HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community Wayne Proffitt Scholarship announced

Three FHS seniors chosen to receive $1000 each.

The Wayne Proffitt Memorial Scholarship was awarded for its third year last Saturday, during the Future Farmers of America annual fundraising banquet at the Wayne Proffitt Agricultural Center on Georgia Road.

With the scent of barbecue in the air, and the sounds of Madison County-based bluegrass troupe Appalachian Harmony, more than a hundred people turned out for the event.

The Wayne Proffitt Memorial Scholarship was established to continue the legacy of Wayne Proffitt, a lifelong FFA member and longtime agricultural teacher. According to County Commissioner Ronnie Beale, a former student and later friend of Proffitt’s, the scholarship was established to benefit the youth of Macon County.

Wayne Proffitt Memorial Scholarship winners Kaitlyn Anderson, Chelsea Passmore and Cody Viar proudly display their awards with the scholarship committee. Photos by Davin EldridgePerhaps the most endearing moment of the evening was when Proffitt’s students from the class of 1949-50 came forward to attest to Proffitt’s impact on their lives. John Henry, Wayne Stewart, Jerry Sutton and Bob Henry were among the first students Proffitt taught. “He was one of the finest men to ever have been in this,” said Henry. “He was like a father to me.”

“We continue to have great attendance for this banquet and great support for the scholarship,” said Beale. “Wayne Proffitt was a great mentor and teacher, and we are here today to carry on his legacy through these hardworking students.”

This year, three Macon County students received the Proffitt scholarship at the event. Last year, only two students were awarded.

Droves of locals turned out for last Saturday's third annual Wayne Proffitt scholarship banquet.In 2010, two $500 awards were given to Derek Conley and Dalton Drinnon, who focused their studies on agriculture. Last year, Emily White and Justin McClure received $750 scholarships.

This year, three FHS students were given $1,000 Proffitt Memorial Scholarships for their diligent work with FFA. With an eye on attending Southwestern Community College after graduating, Kaitlyn Anderson will use her award to pursue a degree in Elementary Education. Chelsea Passmore will study business administration and accounting at SCC, while Cody Viar will study culinary arts at A-B Tech.Appalachian Harmony of Madison County covers Johnny Cash's “Folsom Prison Blues.”


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter