HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community

Whitney Katherine Sellers and Andrew David Jacobs were married May 14, at Trinity of Fairview in Fletcher, N.C., with Wayne Dickert officiating.

The bride is the daughter of Michael and Karen Sellers of Fairview, and the granddaughter of Harold and Doris Sellers of Gastonia, N.C., and Russell and Bobbie Wyont of Dallas, N.C. The groom is the son of Larry Jacobs and Barbara Jacobs of Franklin and the grandson of Radford and Kate Jacobs of Franklin and the late Everett and Irene Mashburn.

Matron of honor was Meredith Crisp, sister of the bride. Bridesmaids were Liza Schillo, Hannah Bruce, Lindsey Bruce and Katie Henderson, friends of the bride.


The cold weather does not stop a true farmer. The first of nip of the fall was in the air but plowing teams still came to Deal Farms Saturday morning, October 1, for an all-day event of plowing the ground. There is certainly plenty of land to be plowed. There was only a small section at the end of the field that the farmers were plowing, using old fashioned plows and teams of horses and mules. Elsewhere on the farm, more modern plows were being used.

There was no contest involved in the teams plowing, although there have been in the past and other farms that hold similar events will have contests for the best teams.


Cartoogechaye Elementary and West Macon Fire Department give cancer survivor a memory

Students at Cartoogechaye Elementary School were given the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful day hiking up to Siler Bald on Wednesday, but this trip was no ordinary outdoor excursion. One particular fourth grader was venturing out into the wilderness for the first time in his young life.

In 2007, Daniel Tomberlin was diagnosed with stage 4 Neuroblastoma at the tender age of four, a rare type of cancer that attacks the body’s nerve tissue. Although Tomberlin fought successfully for his life, the tumor significantly damaged his spine, paralyzing Daniel from the waist down.


Annual ‘march for babies’ event held in Franklin

Not even the crisp morning air and a biting breeze could dampen Macon County’s March of Dimes annual “march for babies” event Saturday morning in downtown Franklin. Participants from Macon County and Western North Carolina coalesced at Franklin’s Memorial Park to give their support to local March of Dimes initiatives.

The March of Dimes Foundation is a national non-profit organization that works to raise money and awareness about premature births and birth defects.


Page 318 of 396


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter