Wayah Insurance Group's 60th Birthday Celebration :: Friday, May 29th from 11am-2pm :: Food * Music * Games * Drawings :: click here for more info!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community

On Monday, Jan. 19, Martin Luther King Day, 11 volunteers from Western Carolina University, joined the Habitat for Humanity force to help apply vinyl siding to a house being restored by Habitat.

One member from the Center for Service Learning at WCU and the women from Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority spent the day learning how to properly use tools and specific techniques for installing vinyl siding on a structure.

A few had never used a hammer before, so the Habitat crew said that is was fun to educate them as to which end to hammer with.


Franklin High School students voted on its Mr. & Ms. FHS court this past week. The teachers at Franklin High School nominated the court and the students voted.

The winners will be named at a dance to be held Saturday, Feb. 28, from 8 to 11 p.m. in the FHS gym.

Pictured (front row, L-R) are Kylie Ball, Payton Burrell, Brooke Watson, Ashlyn Carruthers, Alexandra Houston, Olivia Coulter, Vanessa Agrusa, Kendyll Taylor, Adrienne Holland, Mackenzie Hayles, Avery Graham, Jaylyn Field, Kayla Cabe, Charidy Ledford; (second row, L-R) Drew Braswell, Silas Raby, Dylan Southard, Jackson Perone, Jackson Norton, Landon Potter, Trey Maslin, Blaine Moss, Tristan Lamb, Tucker Raby, Evan Fowler, Bryson Burt, Trevor Rogers, and Caleb Moss.


Old Man Winter took a break this past Saturday, Feb. 7, for the first ever “Love is in the Air 5K Fun Run/Walk” at South Macon Elementary School. Despite freezing weather in the previous several weeks, Saturday blossomed into a dazzling, sunny day with temperatures reaching the mid 60’s and a slight breeze making the day nearly perfect for the event and the participants.

The “run” was intended to raise public awareness about multiple sclerosis and also to raise money for research into the causes and possible cures for this mysterious, debilitating disease. Dryman’s Chapel United Methodist Church, pastored by Rev. Janet J. Greene, was the driving force behind this event. The proceeds are to be donated to MS research in honor of Kevin Bell, who is a member of the congregation.


Alton DealVictory Baptist Church will hold revival meetings beginning Sunday, Feb. 15, through Wednesday, Feb. 18.

Dr. Alton Beal, president of Ambassador Baptist College in Lattimore, N.C., will be the guest speaker. Dr. Beal will speak at 11 a.m., and 6 p.m., on Sunday.

Monday through Wednesday, night services will begin at 7 p.m.

A nursery will be provided during each service and everyone is invited to attend.

Victory is located midway between Sylva and Franklin on top of Cowee Mountain.

Page 17 of 362

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter