Martin Luther King Day Celebration :: Click to see Events Schedule!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education FHS honors achievement at Senior Awards Day

Chanz Fritz and Maddy Brown received the Spirit Awards.Franklin High School held its Senior Awards Day Friday, May 4.

Among the awards handed out were in the categories of Academics, Civic, Athletics, Cultural Arts Vocational and others.

Senior Class president Madison Brown welcomed the assembly of students, family, friends and faculty.

Student body president Eric Phommakisone offered inspirational remarks.

FHS Chamber Singers and the Backwoods Band provided entertainment and Principal Chris Baldwin presented the awards. Rita Esterwood was recognized as Teacher of the Year.


*Creative Writing - Breanna Steele

*English - Sloane McDowell

*French - Three, Macey Lewis; Four, Kristen Cabe, Thomas Evans. Eric Olvera, Tanner Piper; Five, Tori Dragoo , Levi Plouse

Lindsay Simpson wins NCHSAA Female Athlete of the Year presented by Bill Horniak.*Library Science - Sarah Shuler

*Mathematics -Sloane McDowell , Andrea Bell

*North Carolina Scholars  Program recognizes those candidates who have pursued a rigorous academic course of study.

Andrea Bell, Tanner Piper, Olivia Boss, Levi Plouse, Kristen Cabe, Chelsie Raby, Mary-Anne Davey, Kaitly Elliott, Andrea Rowland, Emily Esterwood, Carrie Southard, Chanz Fritz, Annissa Steele, Alecia Gerra, Eryn Sueyklang, Jessie Giaquinto, Jordan Talley, Katelyn Hesselbirg, Nicole Valley, Sloane McDowell, Lori Morgan, Lauren Penland

*Science - Breana Steele, Tanner Stamey

*Social Studies - Olivia Boss

*Spanish - James Wilt


*Baseball - Tanner Gerber, Chanz Fritz, Austin Gibson

*Basketball-Girls - Lindsay Simpson, Kaitlin Sanders, Nikki Valley , Chyenne Bennett

*Basketball-Boys - Jordan Howell

*BFS - Girls - Lindsay Simpson

*BFS - Boys - Thomas Evans

*Cheerleading - Kaylee Marsengill, Tori Dragoo

*Cross Country - Girls - Emily Esterwood, Alecia Gerra and Yanet Rangel

Jake Tallent and Jordann Wood received the Citizenship award, the highest award a student can receive.*Cross Country - Boys - Tanner Stamey, Jake Tallent

*Football - Tyler Rodgers, Eric Olvera, John Marr

*Golf - Girls - Carly Payseur

*Indoor Track - Kyle Brown, Jay Hartbarger

*Soccer - Girls - Kristen Cabe, Maddy Brown

*Softball - Chelsea Stanfield, Lauren Penland, Kaitlin Sanders, Ashley Holland, Anissa Steele

*Special Olympic Athletes - Nash Broyles, Christa Irvin, Bucky Jones, Dillon Ford

*Swimming - Girls - Emily Esterwood

*Swimming - Boys - Tanner Stamey

*Tennis - Girls - Andrea Bell, Savannah Herman

*Tennis - Boys - Anthony Capaforte, Eric Phommakisone

*Track - Girls - Morgan Landgrover, Nikki Valley

Boys - Justin Bohner, Jacob Martin

*Volleyball - Lindsay Simpson, Karey Conner

*Wrestling - Tanner Piper, Jacob Sayer, Justin Bohner


*FCA - Jordan Wood, Kyle Sizemore

*FFA - Kaitlyn Anderson, Chelsea Passmore, Ashley Moore, Jerry Shepherd, Jonathan Anderson

*French Quiz Bowl - Tori Dragoo

Anthony Capaforte and Rachael Carpenter*Interact Club - Sloane McDowell, Maddy Brown

*Math Club - Sloane McDowell, Eryn Sueyklang

*RISE Club - Miranda Cafee, Maddy Brown, Ashley Holland, Lorri Morgan, Kacie Peck, Katie Peck

*Senior Class President - Maddy Brown

*Spanish Club - Maddy Brown, Sloane McDowell

*Student Council - Eric Phommakisone, Lori Morgan

*TRU Club - Kristy Sheldon


*Art - Sloan McDowell

*Band - Jazz – Clint Strain

Marching – Bradley Parrish and Caleb Moore

Concert – James Wilt Overall Ensemble – Cody Lee Keener

*Chorus - B-Naturals - Zack McCall

Madison Brown, Nash Broyles and Devin BuchananChamber Singers - James Wilt

Concert Choir - Carrie Southard

Choir- Nikki Valley

*Color Guard - Levi Plouse

*Drama - Samantha Liseno

*Pottery - Nash Broyles, Tori Dragoo

*Red Online - Anthony Capaforte, Logan Wallace, Carly Payseur, Katie Peck

*Yearbook - Samuel Wallace, Jake Tallent


*Accounting - Martin Zamudio-Jimenez

*Agriculture - Kaitlyn Drinnon

Sloane McDowell accepts an award from Sgt. Maggard*Allied Health - Class - Andrea Rowland, Yanet Rangel

*Allied Health - Clinical - Danielle Ryan, Ashley Holland

*Architectural Drafting - Bobby Parrish

*Automotive Service Technology - Cade Doolittle

*Business - Sarah Simpson

*Carpentry - Bobby Parrish

*Family and Consumer Science - Kaitlyn Anderson, Autumn Mathis

*Marketing - Dean Dodge

*Scientific Visualization - Jacob Tallent

*Welding - Austin Lewis


*School Spirit Award - Chantz Fritz and Maddy Brown

* Citizenship Award - Jake Tallent and Jordan Wood

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter