HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Southwestern presents annual academic awards

Macon County, from left, (front row) Gaitry Aruwani, Winta Le, Ashley Ritter, Lexie Edwards, Tawana Valentine, Linda Browning, Edith Jennings, Bonnie MacDonald, Julia Picou, Christine Grant, Alyson Payne; (middle row) Ethan Edwards, Nathan Miles, Tyler Cook, Michaela Russo, Kimberly Jakushev, Bethany Steiert, Amanda Muse, Angelica Rawdon, Anna Ramos, Karen Martin, Katie Bowman, Jakin Ivey, Jessica Kanai; (back row) Andy Timan, Stephanie Morgan, Susan Bradshaw, David Parrish, Britney Janow, Dana Mills, Judith Johannsen, Brian Stiles and Sean Meagher.Mathematics instructor Mary Bradley encouraged students to strive for excellence. Bradley was the featured speaker during Southwestern Community College’s Academic Awards Ceremony Tuesday, April 17, on the Jackson Campus.

As Bradley addressed the students, she said, “One of the most important things a teacher can do is to encourage excellence. Education is like life … you can make excuses and give up, or you can persevere and succeed. Success at anything takes practice and a lot of hard work. The greatest single lesson that you, as a college student will learn is that you are capable of teaching yourself.”

The 29th Annual Academic Awards Ceremony highlighted the academic achievements of 230 students plus award nominees of NCCCS Academic Excellence, All USA Today, Dallas Herring, and Who’s Who Among Junior Colleges.

To qualify for participation in the Awards Ceremony, a student must have earned a minimum of 30 semester hours’ credit within the last four years by the end of fall semester at SCC, be enrolled spring semester and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above.


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter