Martin Luther King Day Celebration :: Click to see Events Schedule!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Area colleges name President’s, Dean’s Lists

Matthew Lyle RamseySouthwestern Community College announced the President’s and Dean’s lists for Fall 2010. To earn the honor of President’s List students must achieve and maintain a 3.85 Grade Point Average. Students with a GPA between 3.50 and 3.84 earn the honor of the Dean’s List. To be eligible for either honor, students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours of courses and not have any incomplete or failing grades.

President’s List Macon

Michelle Barborich, Constance Bates, Kevin Bolick, Connie Bradley, Brittany Burnett, Patricia Collins, Amber Conner, Faith Corbitt, Ethan Edwards, Bryon Fitch, Daniel Gallagher, Christine Grant, Robert Green, Natasha Holland, Jakin Ivey, Cody Jones, Winta Le, Emily Lenski, Gina Maniscalco, Trenda Mason, Amanda Mast, Brandon McMahan, Justin Mitchell, Margaret Murphey, Teresa Paquette, David Parrish, Kayla Pruett, Kenneth Rhoades, Jason Seebach, David Sherwood, Christa Sprinkle, Teresa Taylor, Amy VanHook, Katie Waldroup, Leslie Warren, Anthony Welch, Amanda Williamson, Arthur Zanotti.

Dean’s List Macon

Leah Albright, Aaron Andy, Jennifer Barrington, Amanda Bateman, Susan Bradshaw, Timothy Broughton, Linda Browning, Holly Brown-Owen, Clinton Bryson, Trevor Burdick, Merinda Carr, Jessica Cody, Tammy Combs, James Corvaia, Jason Daniels, Ivette Ertl, Bethany Evans, Kristopher Fair, Kayla Forgit, Dorothy Forrester, Shannon Gibson, Amber Golebiewski, Sarah Gorski, Andrea Henry, Casey Jones, Cesily Lantz, Stephanie Lee, Jon Martineau, Lacey McCal, James McCoy, Angela McLean, Tracy McMahan, Jason Morgan, Victoria Myers, Damian Nelson, Sasia Newman, Geoffrey Noll, Taylor Oliver, Hayden Peterson, Debra Randall, Angelica Rawdon, Jeffrey Reece, Amanda Reed, Jennifer Richards, Matthew Rippetoe, Amberly Rogers, Danielle Serjan, Jessica Snyder, Bethany Steiert, Dillon Wadewitz, Jeanna Woolbright, Emilee DeForest

Caden Brown, Aaron Burton, Eva Romero, Bobbi Talley, Sayward Thompson

Rachel Crawford, Amanda Muse, Candice Queen

Karen Dyer, Anna Ramos, Justyne Reese

Adam Farris, Jasmine Howard, Britney Janow, Zackery Keys

Scaly Mountain
Marc Gagne

Di Anna Schlarb

Dean’s List
Georgia Institute of Technology

Matthew Lyle Ramsey, son of Joe and Theresa Ramsey of Franklin and a 2007 graduate of Franklin High School was named to the Dean’s List at Georgia Institute of Technology (GA TECH) for the fall 2010 semester. Ramsey is a third year student majoring in Computational Media/Computer Science. In addition to his academic studies, Ramsey participates in the Cooperative Work Program, partnering with Cox Communications in Atlanta, Ga.

Kortney Michelle ConnerDean’s List
Brevard College

Brevard College in Brevard, N.C. has named Kortney Michelle Conner of Franklin to the Dean’s List for the fall semester of the 2010- 2011 academic year.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled full-time and earned a 3.50 grade point average or higher for the semester.

Brevard College ( offers a range of distinctive baccalaureate degree programs on a beautiful residential campus in Brevard, North Carolina. Curriculum at Brevard combines small-classroom instruction with creative internships and immersion experiences, provides a strong core in the liberal arts and offers great strengths in fine arts as well as in interdisciplinary programs that educate for leadership and service and draw on the natural resources of the College’s mountain setting.


Chancellor Linda P. Brady has announced the names of December graduates, and of students who attained Dean’s List and Chancellor’s List honors at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro during the Fall 2010 semester.

Graduating from Macon County with a Bachelors Degree is Claire Elizabeth Frederick (magna cum laude) of Highlands.

To make the Dean’s List, students carrying at least six hours of course work must earn an academic grade-point average of 3.5 or higher, with no grade lower than a B-. Students are eligible after they have completed 15 hours of coursework.

To make the Chancellor’s List, full-time undergraduates must have a cumulative grade point averages of at least 3.65 of a possible 4.0. To be eligible, students must be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours of course work. They also must have completed 30 hours of coursework.

Deans List

Jackson County
Holly A. Setzer of Cullowhee; Sarah E. Ogletree of Sylva.

Macon County
Colin Chapman, Kaley E. Davis, Emily B. Leonard, all of Franklin; Claire E. Frederick, David K. Parrish, both of Highlands.

UNCG Chancellor’s List

Macon County
Colin Chapman, Emily B. Leonard, both of Franklin.

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter