The Rotary Club of Franklin presents RiverFest 2 :: Saturday, August 29 from 8:30am - 12:30pm along the Little Tennessee River :: click here for more information!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education

Two outstanding Southwestern Community College students, Melody MacDonald and Andrew Timan, have received fall 2013 Western Carolina University Chancellor’s Achievement Awards. Each award is a full scholarship that covers tuition and fees for two years. It is presented to one or two transferring students each year, chosen by an SCC selection committee, from a very select pool of applicants with grade point averages of 3.75 or higher and successful completion of approximately 60 hours of transfer credit.


The Macon County Public Library in Franklin is holding a kindergarten readiness storytime in July on Mondays from 6-6:30 p.m.

This program uses games, books, songs and puzzles to review with children core kindergarten readiness concepts, such as letters, numbers, shapes, etc.

Parents and children ages 4-5 are invited to come.


Susan Steiner, science teacher at Macon Early College, spoke to members of the Rotary Club of Franklin June 19.

Steiner was one of 12 teachers who applied for and was given the opportunity to study and do research in the Arctic through PolarTREC.

PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is a program in which K-12 teachers spend two to six weeks participating in hands-on field research experiences in the polar regions.


Southwestern Community College strengthens academic ties with higher education institutions to provide Honors Program credit for students achieving excellence. Southwestern currently has Honor Program agreements with WCU, ASU, UNCC, NC State, UNCW, UNCG, UNCA, Mars Hill College, and UNC Pembroke.

“The concept that ‘no student stands alone’ is well represented within SCC’s Honors Program— as this program is a perfect example of where we stand together—within a community of scholarship—a coming together of student and teacher—in teaching, exploration and learning, which best represents the academic excellence that is the single variable in defining Southwestern Community College,” said Cheryl Contino-Conner, director of SCC’s Honors Program.


Page 43 of 116

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter