Martin Luther King Day Celebration :: Click to see Events Schedule!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education

Andy Shaw Ford of Sylva is once again bringing Ford Motor Company’s “Drive One 4UR School” Program to Jackson County. On Oct. 7 the event will be held at Smoky Mountain High School from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. This year the potential for increased funding is significantly higher than in years past. The basic formula will still be used: A $20 donation will be made by Andy Shaw Ford and Ford Motor Company for each of the first 300 test drives of a new Ford vehicle. However, if 200 of those same drivers take an additional test drive in the newly redesigned 2012 Focus an additional $2,000 will be donated. During that same time frame students will be producing a video which features the new Focus and if chosen as a winner, the School can win an additional $7,000 for a total of $15,000.


Students and faculty alike kicked back to relax last Thursday at Southwestern Community College Macon Campus’ “Welcome Back!” event.

From 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., nearly 300 students of all ages gathered behind SCC’s Macon Campus to celebrate their return to school. Hot dogs, classic rock, games and swag were all among the perks afforded students at the Sept. 8 soiree.

“This is pretty great,” said MEC student Russell Helma, who was doing the limbo at the party with more than a dozen of his classmates. “We don’t get to do stuff like this every day. It’s a good way to start back at school.”


The age-old rivalry between Franklin High School and Smoky Mountain High School has reached beyond the gridiron. Now, the two friendly rivals will be competing for a more charitable cause this holiday season.

The two schools intend to see who can collect more toothpaste and toothbrushes for Operation Christmas Child (OCC) — an arm of Samaritan’s Purse that sends shoe boxes filled with toys, school supplies, personal hygiene items and other supplies to needy children in the U.S., along with 100 other countries.

Although the donation drive is in essence a competition, Operation Christmas Child volunteer June Trull said that the event is all in good fun.


Under the advisement of Macon County Schools’ attorney, John Henning Jr., the Board of Education signed a letter of intent with the Lindamood-Bell Learning Process (LBLP).

At the beginning of the specially called Sept. 6 work session for the board, LBLP representatives presented Henning Jr. with a letter of intent that outlines Macon County’s intention to implement LBLP. The board unanimously voted to take the recommendation of Henning Jr. and voted to approve it.

The letter explains, “The purpose of this letter is to outline the conditions pursuant to which Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes, Inc., a California corporation (“Lindamood- Bell”), will provide services to Macon County Schools, (the “District”) during the 2011-12 school year.”


Page 92 of 120

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter