- published 3/27 (Larry) - unpublished ?

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast


Franklin's Planning Board met Monday afternoon to discuss several issues concerning current zoning designations of properties located in the city limits.

The first item on the agenda is the possibility of rezoning of 32 parcels of land located on Pauline Avenue. Of those parcels, 16 applications were submitted by the owners and the other 16 were submitted on behalf of the property owners by nearby landowner Richard Brady. The parcels are currently zoned as R-2 residential which would permit manufactured homes or mobile homes and the applications request that they be rezoned to R-1 residential where they would be prohibited.


Board flip-flops on Burningtown fire tax increase

After weeks of meetings and deliberations among community members and the county commissioners, Macon County officially has a budget for the 2013-2014 fiscal year. In a vote of 3-2, the budget was put into place and will take effect on July 1. Commissioners Ron Haven and Paul Higdon opposed the budget as presented.

"I have to vote against this budget," said Haven. "There are just some things in it that sit heavy on my heart that I can't support."


Electronic billboards the advertising method of choice.

The Tourism Development Authority addressed some lingering issues facing the board at Tuesday evening's meeting which served as a continuation of last week's meeting.

When considering the budget for the fiscal year that will begin on July 1, a few key components were discussed by the members at the meeting.


Macon County non-profit organizations have until July 31, 2013, to apply for county funds through the Macon County Community Funding Pool (CFP). Application forms and instructions are available on the Macon County website, www.maconnc.org, or may be picked up at the Macon County Public Library on Siler Farm Road in Franklin, the Hudson Library on Main Street in Highlands, and the Nantahala Public Library on Nantahala School Road.

Organizations applying for CFP funds must provide financial statements such as budgets and federal tax-exempt reports, organization goals and objectives and program/service descriptions. First-time applicants must contact Karen Wallace, (828)524-3600, or Mary Ann Sloan, (828)482-2126, to discuss their proposal. Groups not incorporated as non-profits may enlist an established non-profit to serve as their fiscal agent. Collaborative agency proposals are encouraged to leverage limited funding and to share resources.


The Clarks Chapel, Cullasaja, West Macon and Otto Fire Departments held a joint training exercise at a vacant residence on Wayah Street on Saturday headed by lead SCC instructor Alan McWilliams.

By using an actual house rather than the training building at SCC, firefighters are exposed to a more realistic training experience.



more photos after the jump!


Third measurable earthquake within a one year period.

A small earthquake rumbled about seven miles west of Cullowhee last Thursday morning around 6 a.m., and many local residents felt it in Franklin. It registered as a 2.5 on the Richter Scale according to the United States Geological Survey (USGS).

No damage was reported as a result of the quake and most people who felt it thought that it was a result of thunder.


Fire departments, library among those seeking funding.

The Macon County Board of Commissioners hosted a public hearing Tuesday night for citizens to address concerns for the 2013-2014 fiscal year budget. The commissioners provided time at the beginning of the meeting for local residents to voice concerns about the budget that has been in the works for the last couple of weeks. A total of six individuals expressed their feelings towards the budget proceedings and the commissioners at the meeting.

Kenneth McCaskill who represented Burningtown Fire Department on May 30 at the county board meeting once again stressed the importance of a fire tax increase in his community.


The Tourism Development Authority (TDA) met Monday night for its monthly meeting to discuss the upcoming fiscal year and their strategy for moving forward after a turbulent 2012-2013. Though the new fiscal year does not begin until July 1, the board is already making moves to change up their way of doing things this time around. At last month's meeting, they voted to deny an Allison Outdoor Advertising contract renewal in a vote of 4-3 and decided to look at new marketing outlets. In the past, Tony Angel Media has been instrumental in helping the board determine the best marketing avenues via billboards and cable television advertising, but that also may change in the upcoming year.


The Town of Franklin had a discarge of untreated sewage from our pump station located at 3174 Wayah Road of approximaely 4,500 gallons.

  • The discharge was first discovered on June 10, 2013, at 9 a.m. and lasted approximately 1 hour.
  • The untreated wastewater entered Wayah Creek.
  • The spill occurred because of pump station failure, due to heavy rain.

This notice is required by North Carolina General Statutes Article 21 Chapter 143.215.C. For more information, contact assistant to the town manager Summer Woodard at (828)524-2516.

Last Thursday afternoon, a 1994 GMC concrete transport truck turned over while traveling northbound on Hwy. 441 between Otto and Franklin.

The initial accident investigation revealed that a motor home was traveling in the northbound lane of Hwy 441 followed by the concrete transport truck operated by Cashiers Concrete. The motor home suddenly slowed to make a right hand turn and the concrete truck locked its brakes in an attempt to avoid hitting the motor home.


More Articles...

Page 20 of 97


click to zoom

published: 10/18/2013
old link: http://www.wpfj.com/free-coupons/
Macon County News is now on:
Find Macon County News on Facebook! and  Find Macon County News on Twitter!
Facebook   Twitter