Martin Luther King Day Celebration :: Click to see Events Schedule!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

Franklin High School’s new Hall of Fame inductees celebrated at Homecoming

Before Friday night's football game, the Franklin High School Booster Club held its second annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony. The ceremony took place on the track where commentator Donnie Clouse welcomed special attendees Superintendent Dr. Chris Baldwin, FHS principal Barry Woody, assistant principal Kris Reis, assistant principal Pam Cabe, and school board members Gary Shields, Tommy Cabe, and Jim Breedlove.

Members of the FHS Booster Club were also acknowledged in front of the near capacity stands. In recognition of their dedication to the Panthers, Dink Love, and John and Louise Henry were presented the #1 Fan Award.

“First is someone who is always available to help with anything that is ever asked of him,” said Clouse. “He is known and loved by everyone. This award is presented to Dink Love.”

After Love received a round of applause, the second award was announced.

“Second is a couple who are fixtures at all of the Franklin High School athletic events. None of their children live in Franklin so they have become adopted parents to our athletes. This award is presented to John and Louise Henry,” said Clouse.

The inductees of Friday night's ceremony would join the first class of inductees, who were honored last year– Shawn Bryson, Paula Corbin, Tom Raby, Jim Taylor, the 1971 Varsity Football Team, and the 1976 Varsity Football Team.

The first 2013 inductee was Jim Williams, who was an athlete at FHS from the fall of 1958 through the spring of 1962. He lettered in football and basketball in his high school career and was named All Conference in both sports.

Williams was a member of the 1962 basketball team that posted a record of 27 wins and three losses, a record that has yet to be broken.

Williams was also a four-year starter at quarterback on the FHS football team, passing for over 3,900 yards and 48 touchdowns. After turning heads with his football career in Franklin, he received a full scholarship to play at the University of Georgia. After his first year, he transferred to Western Carolina University where as starting quarterback he led WCU to three consecutive winning seasons from 1964- 1966 and broke 28 WCU passing and total offense records. Also leading the Carolinas Conference in passing and total offense in 1965 and 1966 and receiving MVP, he was named as Western's first All-American in 1966. He was inducted into the WCU Hall of Fame in 1992.

Tommy Cabe congratulates Coach David Morgan on his induction into the Frankln High School Booster Club’s Hall of Fame. During his tenure at Franklin High School, Coach Morgan led track and field teams as well as cross country teams to dozens of conference, regional and state championships. Photo by Travis TallentThe next inductee was Coach David Morgan. Morgan is a South Carolina native, playing sports throughout high school. He attended Mars Hill on a football and track scholarship and taught in Macon County from 1973 until 2011. Over the years, Morgan served as a coach in baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, and track and field. He also started the Fellowship of Christian Athletes club at FHS.

As the boys track and field coach, he led the teams to a 1,075-276 record, with 15 conference championships, five regional championships, and two state championships.

He led the boys cross country teams to a 2,048-308 record, with 13 conference championships, 10 regional championships and five state titles.

He also led the girls cross country teams to a record of 1,634-430, with nine conference championships, six regional championships, and four state championships.

Morgan said that coming to Franklin was the best thing that could have happened to him and in a prepared statement he gave special thanks to his wife and children for their love and support. He also wanted to thank the many assistant coaches, athletes and fans that have supported him as coach.

The final inductees in the 2013 ceremony were the 2001 varsity baseball team that went 23-4 in the season and 11-1 in conference play. Head coach Jeff Graham was named Conference Coach of the Year in 2001.

At the 3-A NCHSAA State Championship, the team lost their first game against Southern Durham by a score of 12-2, but bounced back to win the next game 4-3. In the third and final game, the Panthers again pulled out a close win, 7-6, becoming State Champions. The 2001 team is the only FHS baseball team to win a state championship.

The team:

Head Coach – Jeff Graham

Assistant Coach – Scot Maslin

Assistant Coach – Ryan Raby

Manager/Statistician – Noah Hubbs - accepting for him was Joey Gibson; Eric Rodgers – accepting for him was Casey Jennings

Seniors – Matt Bradley, Ray Gill – accepting for him were his parents, Ray and Regina Gill; Jared Greenwood; Charlie Hyland; Brandon McDowell – accepting for him was his mother, Darlene McDowell; Luke Moffit – accepting for him was Joe Hilliard; Gary Morris; Ben Vanhook – accepting for him was his sister Amy and nephew Davis; and Craig Younce.

Juniors – David Blanton, Jared Breedlove, Mickey Carpenter, Jeremy Dockery, Mark Green – accepting for him was his mother, June Hodgin; and Brandon Peek.

Sophomores – Brent Douthit – accepting for him was Bryan Burt; Kyle Garner, Dustin Penland – accepting for him was his mother, Carmen Penland; Clay Wyatt – accepting for him was his mother Martha.

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter