FALL Arts, Crafts & Bake Sale :: Friday, October 2 from 9am-4pm :: Saturday, October 3 from 9am-3pm :: Hickory Knoll United Methodist Church, Franklin, NC :: CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

Franklin Youth Tennis Association is sponsoring the 15th Annual Open Tennis Tournament. Friday, June 6 through Sunday, June 8, at the Macon County recreation park, on six lighted courts. All funds raised will go to Franklin High School boys and girls varsity tennis teams.

Best two out of three sets win the match. A 10-point tie break will be played if split sets. All USTA rules will apply during the tournament. There will be a 15-minute late grace period after your scheduled time or the match will be forfeited.

Trophies and prizes will be awarded to winners of each category. Each participant will receive a free t-shirt.


KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Jeff Gordon held off Kevin Harvick over the final laps and went on to win the 5-Hour Energy 400 Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway on Saturday night.

The victory was by .112 seconds and was the first of the year for the four-time champion and his third at Kansas Speedway.

The win for Gordon was his first since Martinsville Speedway last fall and it earned him a place in the record book as the first winner of a night race at the track. Make that "another place" in the book as he won the first-ever Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway back in 2001.

By winning, Gordon, who started the race leading the series in points, virtually assured himself a spot in the season-ending Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.


On Monday, the Franklin High School women's soccer team hosted rivals the Smoky Mountain Mustangs. The Lady Panthers started the game in dominant fashion, scoring four goals in the first half of the game. The strong showing allowed younger players the opportunity to sharpen their skills against the conference opponents. Franklin secured the win 4-0 and moved their overall record to 9-3, and 8-1 conference.

The Lady Panthers played again yesterday at Brevard. At their last meeting on April 9, they beat the Blue Devils, 4-0.

The FHS softball team hit the road on Monday travelling to Hayesville where they would take on the Yellowjackets.


1: The number of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories posted by Stewart-Haas Racing drivers at Darlington Raceway. Kevin Harvick took the organization’s first checkered flag at the Lady in Black on April 12. Team co-owner Tony Stewart has never won at the 1.366-mile speedway, and neither have teammates Kurt Busch and Danica Patrick.

2: The combined number of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories recorded so far this season by Hendrick Motorsports and Joe Gibbs Racing. Dale Earnhardt Jr. got Hendrick’s lone win in the Daytona 500. Kyle Busch scored for JGR at Fontana, Calif. The two organizations were the series’ most prolific winners in 2013, totaling 21 victories in 36 points races (12 for JGR and nine for HMS).

3: The number of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories recorded by Dale Earnhardt Jr. at Richmond International Raceway. Measured by wins alone, RIR is Earnhardt’s best non-restrictor- plate track and tied for his second best overall. Earnhardt has five victories at Talladega and three at Daytona.


Page 31 of 110

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter