PLOW DAY at Deal Farms :: Saturday, October 10 starting at 9am :: click here for more information!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

Talladega, Ala. - In a must-win situation at Talladega Superspeedway, Brad Keselowski did exactly that, preserving his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship hopes with a victory in Sunday’s GEICO 500.

With the right side of his car damaged in the wreck that brought out the first caution flag of the afternoon, Keselowski persevered, taking the lead during the first attempt at a green-white-checkered- flag finish and winning the race in the second overtime— after a wreck that ended the title run of Keselowski’s former boss, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

“I can’t believe it,” Keselowski said in Victory Lane. “Talladega is such a wild card, and to be able to win here you have to catch breaks and make your own breaks – a little of both.

“I can’t believe we won at Talladega. This race is the scariest of the three in the (Contender Round) bracket. To be able to win here is really a privilege. It really is.”



The FHS varsity football team continued to run through the 2A/3A WNCAC last Friday night when the Panthers continued their undefeated streak. Rival, the Smoky Mountain Mustangs entered the contest with one win on their record for the season.

After scoring on the kickoff, the Panthers made sure to put those hopes to rest when they jumped ahead 21-6 before the end of the first quarter. They added 14 in the second and seven more in the third to seal the win 42-6.


CONCORD, N.C. — The Closer finally closed the deal, and the door swung almost shut on Dale Earnhardt Jr., six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson and 2012 champion Brad Keselowski.

With the dominant car in Saturday night’s Bank of America 500 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Kevin Harvick led 162 laps and survived a wild two-lap dash to the finish after the final caution en route to his third NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win of the season and a free pass into the Eliminator Round of the Chase.

In a race that ended with battered cars, bruised egos, boiling tempers and physical confrontations in the garage, Harvick pulled away after a restart on Lap 333 of 334 and beat Jeff Gordon to the finish line by .572 seconds. Jamie McMurray ran third, followed by Joey Logano and polesitter Kyle Busch.



Franklin High School Homecoming Queen will be crowned Friday, Oct. 24, at half time of the football game against E. Henderson.

Student advisor groups completed nomination sheets, then the athletes were given a final ballot to elect the court.

Selected for this year's homecoming court are, (front row, L-R): Morgan Maslin, Madison Shuler, Heidi Shope, Charidy Ledford, Ashlyn Carruthers; (back row, L-R) Sydney Gooder, Ivy Hawkins, McKenzie Hayles, Sydney Shope, Vanessa Agrusa, Avery Graham, Payton Burrell, Adrienne Holland and Alia Chovanic.

Photo by Vickie Carpenter

Page 20 of 110

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter